Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Image

 “Success is a journey, not a destination” ~  Ben Sweetland

 

In my business and personal life, I have observed many seemingly smart, intelligent people with a great deal of talent fall flat on their faces, while less talented individuals become extremely successful.

At times, it has baffled me and yet raises the question: Why are some people successful and others are not? In your own life, what factors motivate you to become and remain a success?

To that end, after reflecting upon my own professional and personal successes and falls, I am reminded of the definition my father repeatedly spoke into my life throughout my childhood.  It was a quote by Sir Winston Churchill, “Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.”  Recently, I heard this said another way: “Success is falling eight times and getting up nine.”

Further, how do you measure your own success?  Is it defined by your paycheck, your personal happiness, the happiness of those around you, your car, the size of your home, the acreage of land around your home, the number of children you possess, your bank statement, your title or professional position, etc.? 

Please enjoy the video (URL below) of the “Best motivational speeches from famous people like Sylvester Stallone, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Muhammed Ali and Steve Jobs.”  

As you listen, begin to ask yourself, what motivates you to succeed? Awareness of these success factors can, not only, help you to reach continued success, but also avoid some of your professional or personal pitfalls that seemingly derail or delay your success.

http://alturl.com/qr5vs  {{video link}}

Best wishes for a successful Sunday!