Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

[THROWBACK THURSDAY] :: BOOKSHARE

 “It takes a certain fearlessness to make your private thoughts public.”  ~Susan Scott

 

Happy Thursday, followers!

First things first. I am a book worm. I read a lot of books all the time and some at the same time.  Since I am an avid reader, I find value in reading book reviews prior to my purchases.  I believe reviews are helpful to authors and readers.

Today, I have chosen to share one of many from my “favorite business books” list in hopes of giving exposure to some of the authors I enjoy reading and perhaps helping you discover a new book to add to your bookshelf.

Today’s ‘Preston’s Pick’ is a book I read many years ago (in honor of TBT) yet I still reference it now and again. This book is for everyone who has ever had to have an important conversation, but couldn’t bring themselves to having it.  It applies to business meetings and negotiations in Corporate America or entrepreneurship and in that same vein it touches on difficult conversations with friends and personal relationships.

Author, Susan Scott details the exact methods to bring us to having those tough conversations in cases where ‘the talk’ will change our life or other people’s life. She helps the reader overcome barriers that derail honest, authentic communication.

Admittedly, when I first saw the title: “Fierce Conversations“, I wasn’t sure what the author meant exactly.  I think most people relate  “fierce” to perhaps “painful” or “brutal.”  However, Susan, denotes “fierce” to mean “robust”, “strong”, “powerful” and “passionate”. The overall premise of a “fierce conversation”, according to Susan, is to create authenticity in your life through communicating who you are and what you believe.

Fierce Conversations will help change your communicate style in the most important conservations that you must have by changing the way you feel about having these conversations. After all, you must initiate change in order to ensure change happens.  Said differently, if a certain situation is bothering you, you must be the one to confront it.

To that end, if you are brave and courageous enough to awaken to the truth within or the truth that confronts or if you simply want to change the depth of your conversations one conversation at a time, you should read Susan Scott’s Fierce Conversations.  It is the FIRST of many PRESTON’S PICKS (Business Book-share) and this great book is Preston Byrd APPROVED.

~ Preston Byrd