Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20131101-233651.jpg

You completed many actions today! [check]

You marked off several things on your “To-Do list”…(you) even attended many meetings, had conference calls from sunup to sundown, established many new contacts and completed many tasks. [check]

But, the real question is… were you productive? Or, were you simply busy?

As a child growing up in the entrepreneurial footsteps of my father, I often heard him
tell his employees, “all action isn’t productive.”

I didn’t truly understood this statement until I myself established my very own business and hired employees to work with me to deliver on my company’s goals.

Over the years, I’ve come to realize that few understand this concept.

In a nutshell, if you got a lot of things done today, this simply means you were busy.

Alternatively, getting the right things done makes you productive.”

Personally, one of my favorite Friday night rituals involves reflecting upon my work week and separating busy tasks from the important ones.

This has been key to me and my employees producing desired results and working smart versus working hard in an effective, productive manner versus just being a “busy bee.”

What I know for sure is…doing many things doesn’t equate to effectiveness.

I’d love to hear from each of you, how do you gauge if you are being productive and not just busy?

With that in mind, “were you busy or productive today?”

~ Preston Byrd