Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20140210-061050.jpg

Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.
~ Leo Tolstoy

I love this Tolstoy quote! In my opinion, it goes straight to the heart of the matter when facing challenges in business or in our personal lives: our primary focus should be on “changing ourselves (not others).”

As a serial entrepreneur, I find one of my toughest challenges is getting over the resistance of those around me who don’t want to change, when change is necessary.

Therefore, I live by the fact that “change is my lifestyle!” It is my daily goal to operate as a change agent in everything I pursue within my businesses and those around me. I decided long ago that in order to survive…or thrive within my business, I must face “change” fast and fearlessly.

As a change agent, it is my job to be the catalyst for change so first, and foremost, I make sure that my team has a clear direction of the “new” vision and see me adopting the change. In
addition, I try to exercise my patience challenging myself to look at every step forward (by my team) as a step closer to the overarching goal. Lastly, I feel it is very important to empower others on my team to be “change agents” as well. This ensures I am building and cultivating a culture of leadership and learning.

Personally, I understand that it takes a lot of courage to release what is familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace what’s new and different. It is human nature to hold on to what we know for sure.
Moreover, in my experience, professionally, there is more security in the adventurous and exciting rather than in something that is no longer meaningful.

We all know that “change” is inevitable so the question is…why do we resist it?

Why do you resist change in your personal or professional life?

What would make change easier to accept for you?

~ Preston Byrd