Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20140316-114023.jpg

People who ask the wrong questions get more answers than the ones that don’t ask any. ~ Unknown

Do you have questions, but you’re afraid of what someone will think if you ask them?

Recently, it occurred to me that some people don’t ask questions because they are nervous or worried about looking stupid or under-qualified relative to work. And, in some cases, people just don’t want the responsibility of what comes with the answer.

As a child, I was taught that it all starts with a question: Who, What, When, Where, Why or How…?

Similarly, my precocious son begins and ends his days (and mine) with constant questions: Why is the sky blue? How do you know it is going to rain? Where does the sun go when it’s raining? Why aren’t there any more dinosaurs? What is this? How are babies born? Where did I come from? Is my sister adopted? Is God male or female? Why? Why? Why? Why?

Clearly, my young boy has no fear. Moreover, he has no responsibility to deal with the answers and, in all honesty, I have always encouraged my children to ask questions.

I truly believe when you are willing to ask questions and accept or challenge the answers then you can grow and learn; therein, challenging your fears and vulnerabilities.

When you stop learning, stop listening, stop looking and asking questions, always new questions, then it is time to die. ~ Lillian Smith

As a serial entrepreneur, asking questions is my personal passion. My parents taught me that asking meaningful questions is respectful, and asking the right questions without bias or preconceived notions will reveal opportunities.

So, why aren’t you asking those meaningful questions that will reveal your next opportunity?

~Preston Byrd